The difference between love making and baby making

September 7, 2008 at 5:22 pm 1 comment

After 2 years of TTC and umpteen shots in my butt, sex has become more work than I ever imagined. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sexually healthy woman (at least I think so) who enjoys getting into the sack with hubby. Unfortunately as the realization of fertility issues takes hold those fun times turn into managing the logistics.

For example, making time to meet-up every other day for a week during prime time regardless of how busy or tired we might be is a quick way to turn what is usually passion into a functional act. Knowing the position that works best to keep all the sperm inside and (hopefully) swimming to their destination and doing it in that position all week long. And my favourite, remembering to take an egg out of the fridge earlier in the evening so it has time to warm up to room temperature. Trust me when I say that bringing cold egg whites into the bedroom is a quick way to put out the fire.

So it was with some relief that the last few weeks have been all about pleasure and nothing at all to do with baby making. During our IVF cycle in July we found out that the eggs that were fertilized were the ones that had ICSI. So obviously there is something preventing our sperm and egg from fertilizing naturally. I’ve recovered physically from surgery fairly quickly and after a couple of weeks felt the flames of desire again. And what a relief after 2 years to enjoy lovemaking again with no thoughts of egg whites or ovulation charting.

Entry filed under: General, Touchy Feely Emotions.

My fertility reading diet is now over Going for a non-fertility related ultrasound

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. stefanie  |  September 8, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I totally relate to this. DH and I were just saying how- possibly – the bad sex might be over.

    But more importantly good news about the ICSI. Someone told me that with each IVF you learn something, and I was like “I don’t want to learn something, I want to get pregnant.”

    well, learning and tweaking protocols benefitted us. We did ICSI too, and all of our eggs fertilized. I had fewer than most people, so that was really important.

    congrats on the surgery recovery.
    s

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


