My fertility reading diet is now over

August 26, 2008 at 2:33 am 1 comment

It amazes me how much we all read as we make our way through fertility challenges. At the beginning I read masses of information about how to optimize chances of conception. And then I read masses about reproductive technologies and what to expect. I even went offline (gasp!) and got books from the local library. And then I just stopped. I figured I’d consumed as much information as I could and I just had to think about something besides fertility for awhile.

In the few days after I had surgery to remove an ectopic pregnancy I was feeling so lost and sad that I turned back to online resources. I joined a support group and read about others experiences. I read about the odds of having another ectopic pregnancy. I consumed information like when I first realized conceiving wasn’t going to be as easy as everyone made it sound when I was sixteen and discovering those boys weren’t so stinky after all.

Cleaning up my office on the weekend I found a note I’d made to look up a book by Julia Indichova titled, Inconceivable: A Woman’s Triumph over Despair and Statistics. I forget where I heard about it or who recommended it but there it was written down on a sticky note in my to-do pile. The local library didn’t have a copy so I bought it online and expect its arrival in a couple of days. Would love to hear what you thought if you’ve read it!

Entry filed under: General, Touchy Feely Emotions. Tags: , , , , .

No, I’m not pregnant yet The difference between love making and baby making

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. stefanie  |  August 26, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    That was me that recommended it. I loved this book. I did not like her second but this was a great book about hope and how to learn to listen to yourself. Much in the same way that you stopped reading at a certain point.
    At some point you have to be satisfied that you have the right info and just surrender the rest. There are so many little factors. In my first IVF someone said eat pineapple core and drink this tea. Then I went online and found that both could cause uterine contractions and m/c!! So now, I listen mostly to myself ( and if I have doubts about ingesting anything I play it safe and don’t digest it!)

    You sound great!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


