No, I’m not pregnant yet

August 22, 2008 at 10:26 pm 3 comments

It has been months since I’ve posted here on this blog. Life got crazy and busy and I ran out of energy for writing. But today I logged into my account and noticed this comment:

love your sense of humor. I am hoping you have been able to concieve. Please blog an update if you are indeed successful. Thank you rom an unknown older woman who ran across your post with the google question, “how long can sperm survive.

Maybe because it’s Friday or maybe because for the first time in months I’m hormone free (more on that later) but I felt like writing a post. So here it is. The post to say I’m still here and I’m still not pregnant.

Since March I’ve done another 2 IUIs and finally in June we decided it was time to try IVF. It worked and for one short week I watched my beta level increase normally. And then it didn’t. It plateaued, went back up, plateaued. Finally the ultrasound confirmed my fear: ectopic pregnancy.

The fertility clinic sent us to the hospital for a shot of Methotrexate. More info about how Methotrexate works here – http://www.webmd.com/baby/methotrexate-for-ectopic-pregnancy. The hospital performed another ultrasound and could see the heartbeat. That meant surgery was required instead of the Methotrexate. An hour later I was under the knife and they removed my right tube. Thankfully they could remove it with laparoscopy instead of laparotomy, ie. cutting my whole stomach open.

This all happened 2 weeks ago and I’m still feeling raw and emotional. Physically I’m healing fine. In my head I know the positive thing is that I got pregnant and I can get pregnant again. I think it will take a little while before my heart truly believes it and is ready to try again. When we’re ready we do have 2 frozen blastocysts so thankfully don’t have to go through the full IVF process again.

Entry filed under: Frustrations & Problems, Results, Treatments & Progress. Tags: , , , , .

Baby-making according to the calendar My fertility reading diet is now over

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stefanie  |  August 23, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Good to hear from you.

    From a fellow needle belly – be good to yourself. We did IVF in june as well. It didn’t work. I began to work out and decided to get my life back a little.

    The amazing thing for you is that you got preg. (HUGE), you got embryos (HUGE) and you have blasts (amazing). This is all good news. So, heal and take good care.

    While recovering from failed IVF #2 – I did hot yoga for a few weeks and it was torture, but I somehow enjoyed the torture of it. Something more agonizing than the emotions of this year. Somehow it worked.

    We are doing another (last try) This time – and this is maybe the ONLY good thing about doing this sh*t over and over, is that I was really relaxed. I got all my numbers from the doc and did not obsess or anything. I know all the nurses and just joked. That part felt good. Like not to be in the GRIP of infertility so much.

    I’m sending you all good wishes. I have a really positive feeling about your next cycle.

    best,
    s

  • 2. mahleestone  |  August 26, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Thanks stefanie – really appreciate the good wishes. and wishing you all the best as well as you give it another try.

    I hear you on getting your life back a little inbetween attempts. I cycled on the weekend for the first time in ages and it felt so good to just be out there and not worrying about how hot or tired i was getting.

  • 3. Shinejil  |  August 29, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I’m about to get a meth injection, and believe me, I feel your pain and wish none of us had to go through this crap.

    Best wishes for a good next cycle and rapid healing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


