I will never take my good health for granted again

February 14, 2008 at 2:36 am 3 comments

There I said it. It’s out there and officially on public record. Well as official as the world wide web and the ever lasting google can be 😉

I WILL NEVER TAKE MY GOOD HEALTH FOR GRANTED AGAIN!

I felt it was worth yelling. I’m off all medication and not going to the clinic this month. The difference is incredible. I’m exercising regularly, eating well, and basically just full of energy. Even my friends have commented that I sound different in email and on the phone. It is really reinforcing just how crappy I feel when I take the fertility drugs and spend hours driving across town at the crack of dawn to be at the clinic when it opens.

Before this whole infertility experience I didn’t really think about my health. For a few years I was an avid triathlete but even when I gave that up (too much time training!) I still ran and exercised regularly. I never got winded by climbing a flight of stairs or bringing in grocery bags from the car.

Then I swallowed Clomid pills and shot up with Bravelle in my butt (not at the same time of course). The energy seeped out of me and it was compounded by the stress of getting to the clinic for 7am and then rushing to work on time. By the end of the day it was all I could do to make dinner and collapse on the couch watching reruns of Friends.

I knew I wasn’t feeling great but because it happened slowly I didn’t really realize just how crappy I was feeling. Until now. Now that I’m back to my usual energetic self I can see just what a toll the past few months have been.

So I make this vow to myself – I must not take my health for granted. I know I probably have more crappy months ahead of me and that’s fine, I’ll deal with it. But when I’m feeling good I must take the time to appreciate it!

Entry filed under: General, Touchy Feely Emotions. Tags: , , , , .

Two infertility books waiting at the library The 5 questions/comments I hate the most about infertility

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. preconceivednotions  |  February 14, 2008 at 7:30 am

    YAY!!!! For you.

    After taking care of Chuck, pregnancy, and finally the highrisk care where they tested me for everything possible. I FELT somehow I’d been given my life back. And ofcourse, amazingly GREAT HEALTH! Which was surprising enough BUT I remember how grateffulI was to know this. THAT WAS the BLESSING that came with my loss

    Since, I have kinda let ALL those good habits that kept me healthy in the first place slip down my list of priorities.

    Silly huh? Thanks for the inspiration. Yes you inspired me today. Need to love thyself. Life is short enough. GREAT HEALTH is not given to everyone.

  • 2. stefanie  |  February 15, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Hey –

    It’s been one of the greatest gifts of this journey. I have so much energy, no longer ‘need’ caffeine or sugar or rich meals to make me feel satisfied. Sure it’s easy to make a big cheese-filled pasta dinner, but my husband and I have come to love cooking whole organic meals based around veggies.

    I have another book for you. Inconceivable byJulia Indichova. I read it in one sitting and feel inspired all over again (but not overwhelmed by too much info which some of these books can do).

    Keep up the good work. I want to hear about the stuff you’re trying.

  • 3. mahleestone  |  February 15, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    you must be a voracious reader! i’ll check out inconceivable, thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


