Apologizing to my blog and status update

February 7, 2008 at 12:14 am 3 comments

Wow, I’m feeling terrible for not posting in so long. Life was crazy busy the last couple of months and I didn’t have any time to write. I hate it when I’m connecting someone through their blog and they seemingly drop off the face of the earth with no explanation. And yet I just did it. 😦

A lot has happened fertility wise since I last posted and yet I’m no further ahead. Here’s the rundown:

The pregnancy test in December was negative. I really felt like it might have happened in that cycle so it took me a good few days to recover. Of course the holidays kept me around family which at times was tough, but also a good reminder that I’m lucky to have family to celebrate with.

We started a new cycle at the end of December. Instead of Clomid I took Bravelle which required daily shots in my bum. Hubby stepped up wonderfully and took charge of mixing the medication and giving me the shot. He also whisked me away for a surprise cruise to Bahamas but that’s another story.

I started having multiple follicles grow but in the end only one was really the right size and I guess it prevented the others from growing. We had the IUI but alas…another negative pregnancy test.

Our next step is for me to have a laprascopy so my doc can have a closer look at what’s going on inside me. It’s scheduled for the end of February so I’m basically having an ‘off’ cycle. No meds, no shots, no clinic, no crazy hormone swings. To be honest the break is doing me good. I’m at the gym regularly, eating well, and feeling healthier than I have in awhile. But still sad I’m dealing with infertility.

The reason I was so busy was because of work. I had 2 very large projects happening in January and at the end of the day I just couldn’t face any more time in front of the computer. But hopefully things are back to normal now and I’ll be posting regularly. I also have to catch up on the blogs I read. It’s been ages since I’ve checked in with my online friends!

Entry filed under: General, Results, Treatments & Progress. Tags: , , , , , .

Waiting with bated breath Who I Am and Who I Want to Be

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. preconceivednotions  |  February 7, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Awww so sorry! Don’t feel bad about posting. I used to post quite regularly on a poetry site and I felt bad too when I slowed down or stopped BUT life happens, And at times gets away from us.

    Have missed you tho! Wondered about you.

  • 2. stefanie  |  February 8, 2008 at 1:09 am

    I am in the same boat, and also feel good to be taking such good care of myself and my diet. And glad to have a break from the ‘medical cycles’ .

    remember, you are learning things with each try. I also would start with a few follicles and then one would dominate. It’s not ideal from the docs point of view (when they are trying to create more), but one strong healthy follicle is all it takes.

    You are ovulating and that itself is good good news. Best of luck the the exploratory procedure.

  • 3. mahleestone  |  February 8, 2008 at 2:01 am

    thanks preconceivednotions – it’s good to be back in touch again

    thanks stefanie – i keep reminding myself that i only need 1 healthy follicle!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


