IUI #3 – Day 2

December 12, 2007 at 6:54 pm 2 comments

Today was the second insemination of the IUI we’re doing this cycle. DH was able to stay with me again today instead of rushing off to work after producing his sample – nice treat. The doc came in and said ‘nice sample’ which I thought was really cute. I get so caught up in the hormones and daily monitoring that I forget our infertility is affecting my hubby as well. Well I don’t really forget but it seems secondary to all the hormones and procedures I have to go through. That isn’t fair but it’s honest. Anyway, I thought it was sweet of her to acknowledge his part in this whole thing.

I had a fair bit of cramping yesterday and it got worse in the night. The doc said that is normal. It was sort of like premenstrual cramps but not quite as acute. I envisioned the pain as being my big fat follicles releasing a nice healthy egg.

The actual procedure was a little more uncomfortable today, I could feel the catheter in my cervix and it cramped a little.  But the doc successfully deposited the ‘nice sample’ into my cervix and I rested for 15 minutes while the little guys hopefully swum to their destination. We’re going back on the 23rd for a pregnancy test. We usually have to wait 2 full weeks before the pregnancy bloodwork but I think she wanted to avoid having us come in over the holidays.

She prescribed some ‘sex for fun’ tonight before I put in my first progesterone supplement. Hubby had been joking that we get busy on the doctor’s table while we were waiting for her to come in so I giggled at her prescribing bedroom relations.

Entry filed under: The Clinic, Treatments & Progress. Tags: , , , , .

IUI #3 – Day 1 Describing the full IUI experience

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. preconceivednotions  |  December 13, 2007 at 9:29 am

    YOu sound very optimistic today. Honey sounds like he has a good sense of humor. THAT IS GREAT! It must be HARD though and I acknowlege that IF that HELPS at all.

    Hopefully things will go swimmingly for you ALL. Get it? Smiles.

    2 insems in one cycle? Really? Improving odds even more.

    I hope I didn’t sound too forward with my last comment. It has just occured to me that THIS may be an option for me in the Spring. Even called a Fertlity clinic yesterday so you are off the hook in my inquisition. I didn’t mean to be so bold.

    Take care lady and the BEST of luck to you both.

  • 2. mahleestone  |  December 13, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    haha, thanks. you weren’t too forward at all! i’m happy to share my experience. will put it into a blog post though as i think it might get lengthy.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


