I joined a gym

December 7, 2007 at 1:51 am 2 comments

I used to be really into working out. I’ve run a few half marathons and have a few triathlons under my belt. After 6 months of TTC my family doc suggested I restrict my workouts to 4 times a week at 30 minutes each. The bit of research I did on it seems to support the theory.

The trouble is that I was so used to regularly running for an hour or more that 30 minutes seemed like no time at all. So I started exercising less and less because I couldn’t be bothered to go out for such a short period of time. And then I felt kinda gross because my body was used to the endorphins and adrenalin surging through my system after a good sweat. After feeling clunky and bulky for a couple of months the pendulum swung back the other way and I started up the 30 minutes 4 times a week routine.

And then winter hit. And boy did it hit hard. I live in Southwestern Ontario (Canada) and it has been cold! I have run all winter in the past but I’m feeling a bit wimpy at the moment. So today I joined a gym and I’m looking forward to running all winter in shorts and a tee. It’s a 5 minute walk away so it’s actually faster to go to the gym than spend the time finding and pulling on the 5 layers required to run in the winter up here.

I’m on my second month of Clomid and I find it hurts a bit to run the 2 middle weeks of my cycle. The Clomid makes me feel really bloated and swollen and I swear I can feel my ovaries bouncing around when I run. It’s like I need a sports bra for them! Since the gym has all kinds of aerobic equipment I can use one of the low impact machines (probably the elliptical trainer) and reduce the bruising.

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , , .

Double dose of clomid Side effects of Clomid

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. preconceivednotions  |  December 7, 2007 at 10:01 am

    good for ypu/ I am a walker! In past 4.4 miles a day or something like that I even did the BIG 0. 109 miles, 13 miles or so a day for 9 days I think. Most camped, I went home each night. But want to start walking again. Next year, like to do the walk for Life in Tampa.

    But I am going to cut back to 40 minutes or 2 miles a day, I think.

    They say it won’t affect fertility.

    Strangely, tho feel so fragile. Afraid to do stuff I always did and can STILL do. Probably just an excuse and a silly one at that. Exercise it GOOD for us.

    Moderate exercise anyway. .

  • 2. mahleestone  |  December 11, 2007 at 12:09 am

    wow – 13 miles for 9 days is a lot! good for you! i’ve been told that walking is really good exercise since it’s low impact.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


