Miscarriage rates higher for woman with PCOS

November 21, 2007 at 11:10 pm Leave a comment

I just read a really interesting post over at the Life Begins blog. It refers to a study titled, Misscarriage rates following in-vitro fertilization are increased in women with polycystic ovaries and reduced by pituitary desensitization with buserelin. What a mouthful!

The long and short of it is that women with PCOS “had a significant reduction in the rate of miscarriage when treated with the long buserelin protocol, 20.3% (15/74), compared with clomiphene citrate, 47.2%“. This is referring to women who have undergone IVF.

I’m still on the IUI track but this article made me wonder if I’m facing a higher risk of miscarriage in general because I have polycystic ovaries. According to this Inciid FAQ it looks like that is the case. “According to some studies, the risk of miscarriage in women with PCOS is 45 percent or more”.

45% – Holy Cr*p!?!?!

That’s a really high percentage. I currently take metformin and it sounds like some doctors are keeping their PCOS patients on it during the early stages of pregnancy. It sounds like early miscarriage is often related to elevated LH levels and women with PCOS often have high levels of LH. I’ve never asked my doctor what my LH level is but sounds like it’s a good question when I’m in for my next cycle.

Two other articles also reference that 45% stat. I haven’t thought too much about the risk of miscarriage as it seems silly when I’m not even pregnant yet. But that 45% number is a good reminder that getting pregnant is just the first step!

Entry filed under: Frustrations & Problems, General. Tags: , , , , .

Sending a care package for new baby Are those period pangs I’m feeling?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


