Sending a care package for new baby

November 19, 2007 at 2:47 am 3 comments

My best friend just had her first child. I’ve known this woman since we were 9 years old and we’ve helped each other through relationships, breakups, new relationships, and the many other milestones of our lives. She had her own challenges with conceiving so I’m thrilled she’s welcomed her son into her world.

I’ve read a few blogs about woman ttc and finding it hard to welcome their friend’s babies. Resenting their success and breaking down while selecting a baby gift for the new mom. Maybe I’m still new to this whole scene (2 IUIs) but I enjoyed putting together a care package I thought my friend would appreciate. She’s the one I talk to most frequently about my own frustrations with trying to conceive so the bond is strong. I wanted to celebrate her new role as ‘mom’ as much as I want her to let me cry when I get my period yet again.

Most of my family is overseas so I haven’t been around babies much or attended many baby showers. So the whole shopping experience was new. Holding those teensy tiny shirts made me a little dreamy as I look forward to the day I’m shopping for my own new baby. But I didn’t for a minute feel resentful. I hope I can always celebrate my friends successes without letting my own frustration interfere. Who knows…it might get harder as more time goes by.

Entry filed under: General, Touchy Feely Emotions. Tags: , , , , .

The TTC booty call Miscarriage rates higher for woman with PCOS

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. preconceivednotions  |  November 20, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    awesome, noble post and GOOD for you ! Although I must say that I resented a friend once, a long, long time ago. And it’s a pretty nomal response, they say

    We are still the BEST of friends some 30 years later! it helped that I found out I was pg when she was in the hospital givig birth to her second child. ;D

  • 2. mahleestone  |  November 21, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    i’m glad you’re still best of friends with the friend you resented so long ago. i wouldn’t be surprised if it gets harder for me to not resent my very fertile friends if my challenges with getting pregnant continue. I’m really glad I could be happy for this particular friend as she’s my oldest and one of my best friends.

  • 3. preconceivednotions  |  November 22, 2007 at 1:11 am

    Hi and thanks for responding. I was touched by this part of your post

    “My best friend just had her first child. I’ve known this woman since we were 9 years old and we’ve helped each other through relationships, breakups, new relationships, and the many other milestones of our lives”

    Same with Kim and I, since 5th grade. She was my brides maid again 2 years ago on Thanksgiving Day.

    I won’t even tell you ALL we’ve been thru together. Sgared about everything at one tiime or another..

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription