How long can sperm live inside me?

November 10, 2007 at 11:02 pm Leave a comment

That’s the question I am wondering at the moment. I’m leaving on a business trip at the crack of dawn tomorrow and expect to ovulate in the next few days. My DH gave me and my libido a proper farewell. I’d go into details but this isn’t that kind of blog…if you know what I mean 😉

I’ve read that sperm can live for up to 5 days after ejaculation. Of course this assumes the sperm is inside and happily swimming towards the fallopian tubes. Can you imagine the mess if the sperm that spills out onto the sheets spent 5 days wriggling about until calling it quits?

To find the answer I asked my friend…you probably know him…he goes by the name Google. Here’s what I found:

This wikipedia Q&A says that 5 days is the max and that assumes you have optimal cervical mucus, not the hostile cervical fluid that exists the rest of the month. According to Early Pregnancy Tests the sperm need to make the first leg of the journey (swimming up the vagina and crossing the cervix into the uterus) in a few hours. If that happens and all other variables are in place (health and quality of the sperm) the little guys might last 6-7 days. On this madsci.org discussion forum a person who says he is a Phd and ob/gyn indicates that sperm in the cervical mucus of a woman’s body can last up to 7 days. And the Mayo clinic says that sperm remain alive in the mucus of the cervix and can fertilize an egg for 3-4 days.

So it seems the cervical mucus plays a very important role. I only notice the discharge of friendly mucus for about 24 hours during my cycle and I definitely didn’t have any of it today. So I expect the sperm deposit made today won’t last the 5 days (I return after 4 days) as conditions aren’t ideal. Argh! Frustrating that I’ll be all alone when conditions are optimal later this week!

Entry filed under: Frustrations & Problems, General, Treatments & Progress. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Bringing the FUN back into the bedroom The TTC booty call

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


