Waiting for Daisy – Must Read!

October 25, 2007 at 3:03 am Leave a comment

I just finished reading “Waiting for Daisy” by Peggy Orenstein. From the moment I turned the first page I felt a sense of relief at knowing all my emotions and experiences about infertility are normal. Well normal might be a stretch…experienced by at least one other person is more accurate.

The author does much more than just explaining what it’s like to go through fertility treatments. Her thoughts on motherhood and the ambivalence she feels are raw and honest. She opens her heart and invites the reader along for the ride.

Her journey to motherhood was one helluva path. And yet she manages to inject humour occasionally. Since I started my own journey I’ve tried to keep seeing the humour (often irony) in situations. For example, before we went in for the last IUI I asked my hubby if he was ready for a threesome with the hot doctor. He looked at me strangely but he did smile.

The clinic is a somber place. Lots of happy smiling baby photos on the walls and lots of anxious nervous women waiting for ultrasounds, bloodwork, and visits with the doctor. It’s tough but I have to believe that a warm smile and even the occasional laugh would be good for all of us.

I highly recommend “Waiting for Daisy”, it’s an excellent read. In fact, I’m considering giving it to a few family members to help them understand the experiences and pain I’m going through.

Entry filed under: General, Seeing the Humour, Touchy Feely Emotions. Tags: , , , .

Celebrity stars and pregnancy Last few days of waiting for pregnancy test results

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


