Last few days of waiting for pregnancy test results

October 25, 2007 at 6:09 pm 1 comment

I hate this part. The 2 weeks waiting until we can do a pregnancy test and see if the IUI took. I always start off with good intentions. I tell myself that I have no control over the outcome and the best thing I can do is continue with a healthy lifestyle. Eating properly, exercising a little, getting enough sleep, etc. In other words I SHOULD NOT OBSESS!

Of course the reality is different. It’s hard to put thoughts of pregnancy out of my mind. Every time I feel a twinge in my body I wonder if it represents something important. Maybe if my ear turns red it’s because of the pregnancy hormones. Of course I have moments of rational thought and realize the red ear is more likely caused by lengthy conference calls. But as I get to the end of the 2 week timeframe those lucid moments are fewer and further apart.

My new trick this cycle is to squeeze my breasts every morning and see if they’re tender. Really, before putting my bra on I wrap my hand around and give a little squeeze and finish with a pinch of the nipple. What would be considered erotic behaviour on a Friday night is just kinda sad when on my own in the morning. And not surprisingly my breasts are tender. I’ve narrowed it down to 3 possible reasons: I’m pregnant, I’m getting my period, I’ve been squeezing my breasts too much this week. Fascinating test eh?

3 days until I can stop squeezing and go in for a blood test…

Entry filed under: Results, Touchy Feely Emotions. Tags: , , , , .

Waiting for Daisy – Must Read! The wait is over. The results are negative.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  July 27, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I know how you feel!
    We are getting results tomorrow….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


