Ultrasound technician in training

October 12, 2007 at 7:23 pm 2 comments

Over the last few weeks a new ultrasound technician has been job shadowing a more experienced colleague. Her job has been to enter the information and then watch as the technician measures and records follicle sizes. Today they switched roles and the newbie yielded the ultrasound wand. The more experienced technician watched every move so I was comfortable that I was getting good care. The downside was the awkwardness of the wand inside me. I have ovaries that tend to hide and the technician often has to push on my belly or push the wand right into the side of my vagina wall to get a good view. The more experienced ones do this with minimal discomfort.

Today it was VERY uncomfortable as the new person poked and prodded me trying to find my evasive ovary. Thankfully the more experienced technician jumped in quickly to finish the job. I’m all for new people learning but it’s tricky when that involves my legs in stirrups and a wand up my business while two people looking intently at my insides!

Entry filed under: Frustrations & Problems, The Clinic, Treatments & Progress. Tags: , , , , .

One follicle growing strong First HSG shot to help ovulation along

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vanessa  |  November 29, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    I had an ultrasound done yesterday on my heart. I also had a trainee, and when she went to take a look she pressed into my chest like she was digging for treasure…lol so i know haw that goes 🙂 also good luck with TTC, I fear too that someday i’ll have problems. I’ll send out an extra prayer for you and you husband 🙂

  • 2. Vanessa  |  November 29, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    I had an ultrasound done yesterday on my heart. I also had a trainee, and when she went to take a look she pressed into my chest like she was digging for treasure…lol so i know haw that goes 🙂 also good luck with TTC, I fear too that someday i’ll have problems. I’ll send out an extra prayer for you and your husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Subscription


